The Help

Last night we watched The Help. It was a pretty stinkn good movie. I had a couple random thoughts throughout the movie though. This first is that I think I’ve decided to not watch another violent or disturbing movie. The Help was disturbing in a “wow we as a society, and personally, have the ability live with some really depraved ideas” kind of way but not in a violent way. For the most part is was very up lifting and I think pulled on the right heart strings. There were a few scenes that made Becky cry. I would never admit publicly of doing the same but they were good scenes. 🙂 I walked away energized, contemplative, and overall uplifted. On the other hand, I have on numerous occassions had the opposite feeling after watching a movie. A recent example is the movie The Driver. There was an unexpected level of brutality that left my stomach wrenching. I can’t necessarily pinpoint whether or not this type of movie has an enduring impact on my life. Although generally speaking I am sure there is plenty of evidence available.  It just seems very stupid to have acknowledged both a feeling of beauty and goodness on one side and nastiness on the other and willfully choose the later over the former anymore. We will see if I can do it but I’m done with the nasty movies.

Two totally separate images I think culminated in this next thought, related to who we choose as friends. I noticed the snotty bitchy southern white chicks that “skeeter” was hanging out with. You have to assume they came from the same background and were somewhat similar in history. So I guess that just makes sense and exemplifies the way friendships normally come together. The next linker was the sermon from last week at church based on Luke 14:12 12 Then Jesus said to his host, “When you give a luncheon or dinner, do not invite your friends, your brothers or sisters, your relatives, or your rich neighbors; if you do, they may invite you back and so you will be repaid. As we just moved to a new city and don’t know anybody, making friends has been on our mind a lot. This got me wondering why we are spending so much time seeking out those people who have much to offer and most likely have a similar background as us. Shouldn’t we be seeking out those who are lonely and need true companionship?

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

